You are here

President elections in South Ossetia - 2011

The first round of presidential elections in the Republic of South Ossetia in 2011 was held on 13 November. In the second round came Anatoly Bibilov and Alla Dzhioeva.

Already inactive (10 December 2011) President Eduard Kokoity, twice won the elections (2001, 2006), can not take part in the elections in 2011, as according to the Constitution of South Ossetia, one and the same person can not be the President of the Republic for more than two consecutive terms, the Supreme Court in June 2011, rejected the imposition of a referendum on the question of the admissibility of the third term.

October 9, 2011, the Central Election Commission of the Republic of South Ossetia finished receiving petitions from registered initiative groups to nominate their presidential candidates.

On October 10, 2011 the registration was denied four candidates: a member of the Bar of North Ossetia - Alania Bestaeva Basil, a doctor of the Republican Hospital of South Ossetia Lev Gagiev, head coach of the Russian National Wrestling Dzambolat Tedeev and former Minister of Defense of the Republic of South Ossetia Valery Tedeev .


The results of the first round

In the first round, the second round came Anatoly Bibilov and Alla Dzhioeva. The turnout was 67.05%.

Final results:

Anatoly Bibilov (Minister of Emergency Situations) - 24.86% (6066 votes);

Alla Dzhioeva - 24.80% (6052 votes);

Vadim Tskhovrebov - 9.90% (2418 votes);

Alan Kotaev - 9.66% (2358 votes);

Dmitry Tasoev - 9.5% (2318 votes);

George Kabisov - 7.62% (1859 votes);

Vladimir Kelekhsaev - 6.65% (1623 votes);

Sergei Bitiev - 3.34% (815 votes);

Soslan Tedety - 1.13% (275 votes);

Alan Pliev - 1.05% (255 votes);

Jemal Dzhigkaev - 0.95% (231 votes);

Against all - 0.55% (134 votes).

Total participation in the elections was 24,404 voters.

Presidential candidate Anatoly Bibilov and Alla Dzhioeva as with the highest number of votes went to the second round.


The results of the second round

The second round of presidential elections took place on Sunday 27 November 2011. Voter turnout exceeded 60% for the required minimum of 30%.

Alla Dzhioeva - 69%

Anatoly Bibilov - 28% '

Against all - 2%

Invalid votes - 1%

Total participation in the elections was 24,502 voters.


November 29, 2011, Chief Justice of the Republic Atsamaz Bichenov said that the Supreme Court decided to recognize the elections held on November 27, invalid.